Chicken · Chinese · Fusion Dishes · Indonesian · Mains · Rice · Singapore local favourites · Uncategorized

Nasi Kuning (Fragrant Turmeric Rice) & Curry Chicken

DSC_0096 (2)DSC_0093 (2).JPG

I know i have not had an entry for a short while but i have had quite a lot on my plate. I still cook everyday , every meal but just have not had the time to take photos or pen down the recipes. I am feeling better now and hopefully i can tick off heaps of stuff on my to-cook and to-blog list quickly!

I had the rare chance of eating out and picking where to eat a couple of weeks ago, and i picked this place where it was rather famous for its ayam penyet. Unfortunately, i was bitterly disappointed with how dry the chicken was. The only nice thing i had there was nasi kuning. It is my first time trying it and i was so inspired to improve it and cook it myself. The result was extremely fragrant and delicious, and Benny exclaimed that it is the best rice i’ve ever cooked! I was over the moon when i heard that!

The rice is perfect with ayam penyet or curry chicken. Since i’ve already penned down my recipe for ayam penyet, I was looking forward to doing my recipe for the curry this time. I have been making my own curry paste lately as i got tired of store bought pastes and i didn’t want to trouble my mom to make it for me. Now that i’ve learnt to make my own, it is fast, easy, no leftovers, no wastages and most of all, it is fresh and yummy!

Ingredients:

  • Curry
  1. Paste: 12g to 15g chilli padi, 10 cloves garlic, 5 shallots. medium sized ginger, small galangal, 4 candlenuts, 5 tbsp curry powder, drizzle of olive oil
  2. 2 – 3 chicken legs, chopped with bone
  3. 500ml chicken stock
  4. 3 potatoes
  5. 500ml coconut milk
  6. Salt
  • Rice
  1. 4 cloves garlic, pressed, skin on
  2. 2 stalks lemon grass, bruised, whites only
  3. small galangal, sliced
  4. 1 tsp turmeric powder
  5. 1 cup basmati rice
  6. 200ml coconut milk
  7. 200ml water
  8. 1tsp salt
  9. Pandan leaves, knotted

Method:

  1. Blend all ingredients for curry paste until you get a smooth paste.
  2. Heat oil and fry curry paste until very fragrant (you should start coughing when it is fragrant enough)
  3. Add chicken and brown lightly.
  4. Pour in chicken stock, add potatoes and bring to boil.
  5. Reduce to simmer for 30 minutes. Season with salt along the process for the best flavours.
  6. Add in coconut milk and bring to boil.
  7. Reduce to simmer for 15 minutes. You can make the curry a couple of hours earlier for even richer flavours.
  8. For the rice, heat oil and fry garlic, lemongrass, galangal and turmeric until fragrant.
  9. Add in rice and fry until opaque. Pour in coconut milk and water. Season with salt and mix well.
  10. Top with pandan leaves and cook in rice cooker as per normal.

 

3 thoughts on “Nasi Kuning (Fragrant Turmeric Rice) & Curry Chicken

Leave a Reply

