Cakes · Desserts · Fusion Dishes · Pastry/ Baking · Uncategorized

Vanilla Butter Ogura Cake & My first Layered Frosted Cake

IMG20160111201850.jpgIMG20160111202146.jpgIMG20160111201226.jpg

I am practicing baking to prepare for my beloved Ben’s birthday next month! I have always baked cupcakes only as I never had the courage to bake whole cakes until recently when i got a huge boost in confidence in many of my bakes! I can’t believe i can do it now! This is my very first time frosting a cake. It’s ugly but i am really encouraged! It’s like an achievement unlocked for me! This is my very first time frosting a cake, and layering one as well. Enough so for me to want to invest in a turntable which would make frosting alot easier.

I chose to bake Ogura (cotton) cakes instead of good old boring sponge as the texture is just simply a winner. It’s moist and extremely smooth, fine and soft. Like cotton! The method of baking is very similar to chiffon with the addition of an extra egg. I had so much practice with chiffon cakes now that i succeeded on my first try of Ogura, YAY! This opens up heaps of possibilities for me, chocolate, cheese, fruits, anything i want!

Recipe from Ogura Queen Jeannietay.wordpress.com

Ingredients:

  1. 20g corn oil
  2. 20g salted butter
  3. 3 egg yolks (65g eggs)
  4. 1 whole egg
  5. 50g cake flour
  6. 50g whole milk
  7. 1 tsp vanilla extract
  8. 3 egg whites
  9. 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  10. 40g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Melt butter and corn oil over low heat in a saucepan.
  2. Immediately pour butter and oil into sifted flour. Mix until you get a smooth paste.
  3. Mix egg yolks, 1 egg, milk and vanilla together. Pour into flour paste mixture. Whisk until smooth. Set aside.
  4. Whisk egg whites until foamy. Add in cream of tartar followed by sugar, a spoonful at a time. Whisk until glossy firm peaks.
  5. Fold meringue gently into yolk mixture, 1/3 at a time. Fully incorporate the batter before adding the next batch.
  6. Knock mixing bowl on counter to rid of air pockets.
  7. Grease and line bottom of a 6″ round aluminum tin. Do not grease or line the sides.
  8. Slowly pour batter into the tin
  9. Bake in a water bath in a preheated oven at 150degs for 50 – 55mins.
  10. Remove from oven and invert onto a wire rack, lined with cling wrap.
  11. Cool slightly, unmould and invert back onto wire rack. Cool completely.

 

Leave a Reply

