Budget · Chinese · Fast & Easy · Mains · noodles · One Dish Meals · Pork

Fried Bee Tai Mak

IMG20151108185023.jpg

This is one of my favourite dishes that my Ah ma always makes for me! I absolutely love it! After she started to make this for me, i refused to have the soupy ones anymore. I love the texture of bee tai mak, it is soft with a bite, not too starchy, i love it! I actually googled it to find out what is the english name for this noodle and it came up as rat’s noodles, not too appetizing hey. An alternate name is silver noodles which sounds heaps more pleasant.

Anyways, this is the first time i made this myself and I was trying to copycat how Ah ma’s taste like. I came really close except for I didnt have chinese dried mushrooms as Ben hates it and I am not a big fan either. I replaced it with thinly cut king oyster mushrooms and I really love it! I wished i had water chestnuts that Ah ma puts in but i could not find it anywhere ๐Ÿ˜ฆ The crunch from the water chestnuts would most definitely make this dish perfect!

Ingredients:

  1. 2 cups Bee tai mak, rinsed and soaked
  2. 2 large king oyster mushrooms, cut into strips
  3. 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  4. 250g mince pork (marinated in pepper, light soy sauce, sesame oil and hua diao wine)
  5. 1tbsp sesame oil
  6. 1tbsp dark soy sauce
  7. 3 – 4 tbsp oyster sauce
  8. Chillies, fried shallot, spring onion and coriander, to garnish

Method:

  1. Heat oil in hot wok and saute garlic till fragrant.
  2. Add in mushrooms and fry until soft, followed by mince pork.
  3. Brown the pork and when it looks almost cooked, add in bee tai mak and about 2 tbsp of water.
  4. Add in the sauces and fry until bee tai mak is soft and cooked.
  5. Top with garnishes and ready to serve ๐Ÿ™‚
Leave a Reply

