Nonya · Pastry/ Baking

Nonya Pineapple Tarts 娘惹黄梨塔

AHHHHHHHH!!! I am so happy that i can actually bake!!! =D I don’t know what got into me to make me wanna bake pineapple tarts, it must have been the influence of the chinese new year goodies! But whatevr it is, im glad i gave it a shot cause now i finally know that i can bake!! I’m ADDICTED to baking!!!!

I saw that they were selling ready-made pineapple paste, so my mommy asked me to use that. She was pretty skepyical about me making it when i was in the “anything, anyhow” experimenting mood. Anyways,  I was thinking that since i already decided to bake, why not try my best to make everything myself. Furthermore, the super pale yellow colour of the ready-made paste really looks awful. So, i bagged 2 honey pineapples home and got my mom to skin it for me.

But anyways, i know the result is not pretty, but really, everyone who tried says it super delicious!!! I think after i improve on the outlook, i can really take orders for chinese new year already! Foe now, my mommy has ordered form me already =DDD

Ingredients: (yields 150 tarts)

Pineapple jam-

  1. 2 medium honey pineapples, grated
  2. 300g sugar
  3. ground cinammon (aty according to preferences)

Pastry-

  1. 430g butter
  2. 100g icing sugar
  3. 80g milk powder
  4. 1 egg
  5. 600g cake flour
  6. 30g custard powder

Method:

  1. Cook pineapples in a pot with sugar for about 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Add cinammon powder according to own liking.
  2. Cook until the jam starts leaving the sides. Remove from heat and set aside to cool
  3. Preheat oven to 180 deg.
  4. Cream butter till light and fluffy, add egg and beat well
  5. Sift flour, sugar, milk and custard powder into mixture and fold
  6. Roll dough to about 0.5cm thick and use a pastry cutter or pineapple tart mould to cut
  7. Glaze with egg wash and bake for10 minutes
  8. Remove from oven and place balls of pineapple jam prepared earlier. Retyrn to oven and bake for a further 10 minutes
Leave a Reply

